Home General IGCSE Functional Skills

IGCSE Functional Skills

Published: Last updated:
Reading Time: 2 minutes

What exactly are IGCSEs? We go over everything you need to know about the International General Certificate of Secondary Education, from the curriculum to the benefits (IGCSE). Your children have good functional skills by the time they reach their mid-teenage years. , they and you, as parents, must make critical decisions. The credentials they earn at this point in their educational journey will be crucial in planning their path through higher education. The International General Certificate of Secondary Education, or IGCSE, is one of the options. This guide covers everything you need to know about IGCSEs, from the curriculum to the benefits of the qualification.

An Overview of the IGCSE

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education is a series of exams and qualifications aimed at students aged 14 to 16, but they can be taken at any age. The IGCSE, which evolved from the GCSE in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, now offers first language qualifications in a variety of world languages. Pupils can choose from a wide range of subjects to pursue an IGCSE qualification in, and there are no limits to the number of qualifications they can take. Typically, a student will study each subject for two years before taking examinations and assessments to assess their mastery of what they have learned. There is, however, no time limit on how much time a student must study before taking exams.

Depending on the exam board, students are graded in different ways. Many students are now graded on a 9-1 scale, with Level 9 being the highest level of achievement and Level 1 being the lowest. There are two tiers of exams in many of the exams. The higher and lower-tier system is intended to ensure that IGCSEs are accessible to students of all abilities. Teachers can place students in either tier prior to the examinations.

Cambridge IGCSE Cambridge Assessment International Education developed the Cambridge IGCSE, which was first taught in 1986 (in line with the introduction of GCSEs in the UK). The Cambridge IGCSE is a part of the University of Cambridge and offers over 70 subjects. Aside from core subjects like math, science, and English, there is a wide range of other subjects in the humanities, business, and 30 languages to choose from.

GCSE Edexcel International 

Edexcel was founded in 1996 by the University of London as an educational organization. Edexcel IGCSE certifications are available in 37 subjects. Their exams are also set across UK schools, ensuring that their IGCSE program is closely aligned with students studying in the UK. 

The IGCSE Coursework

Depending on the examination board and school, the range of subjects available may vary. Use the links above to look up the subjects and syllabuses offered by each exam board. We’ll go over some of the subjects available and what their curriculum aims to achieve in this section. The IGCSE curriculum of a student will differ significantly depending on the school in question, which has the authority to structure its own curricula. Cambridge Assessment International Education, which administers the IGCSE examinations,

Your child can benefit from one of the most prestigious academic qualifications in the world with the IGCSE. IGCSEs are recognized as valuable qualifications in many countries around the world thanks to the Lisbon Recognition Convention. The Lisbon Recognition Convention ensures that qualifications earned in one country are considered equivalent to equivalent qualifications earned in other member states, allowing students to continue their education in another country within the Lisbon Recognition Convention.

Alicia Saville did her degree in psychology at the University of Edinburgh. She is interested in mental health and well-being.

© Copyright 2014–2034 Psychreg Ltd