Home Clinical Psychology & Psychotherapy Edge Hill University Honours Psychotherapy Expert Sarah Niblock

Edge Hill University Honours Psychotherapy Expert Sarah Niblock

Published: Last updated:
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Psychotherapy expert and journalist Sarah Niblock has been awarded an honorary doctorate by Edge Hill University.

Professor Niblock will be made an Honorary Doctor of Science during the week-long celebrations to mark graduations at the Ormskirk campus.

Sarah said: ‘I am so honoured to be commended by Edge Hill University in this way.

‘I am passionate about the power of education and it will be a real pleasure to share this special occasion with so many bright young minds who are celebrating success in subjects such as psychotherapy, counselling and social work.”

Professor Niblock, who will receive her honour on Wednesday 20 July, is a chief executive, higher education leader, disruptor, journalist and public speaker with a global reach. She is Chief Executive of the UK Council for Psychotherapy and has held high-ranking positions with University of Westminster and Brunel University London. 

Sarah is known for her gravitas, influence, warmth and ability to bring together disparate voices in a unifying way. She has influenced policy change in government and is a passionate advocate for ethics and transparency, social justice, and equity.

She added: ‘Along with the economic crisis we face in the UK, mental ill-health is one of the most serious challenges we face. The system is broken and you would think this would be top of the political agenda.

‘That’s why I am committed and passionate about higher education. Those gaining their awards today are best placed to effect a much-needed culture change that looks at mental health through a different lens, not always as an illness requiring medication but as a sign that something more fundamental might be at the root.’

Professor Niblock will join more than 3,000 students to celebrate their achievements, as well as three other notable names – media medic Dr Zoe Williams, also receiving an Honorary Doctorate in Science, and author and screenwriter Lynda La Plante and actor David Yip, who are both to be made Honorary Doctor of Arts.

Edge Hill’s Academic Board awards honorary degrees in recognition of the highest levels of personal achievement in academic, professional or public life.

Previous recipients include American political activist Reverend Jesse Jackson, Jennifer Saunders, Frank Cottrell-Boyce, Ranvir Singh, David Morrissey, Marc Almond and Alexei Sayle.

© Copyright 2014–2034 Psychreg Ltd