Home General Caribbean Premier League: Team Previews

Caribbean Premier League: Team Previews

Published: Last updated:
Reading Time: 5 minutes

Cricket is perhaps the most adored sport in the Caribbean, and the Caribbean Premier League unites the countries of the region to take part. Caribbean Premier League is one of the most cutthroat T20 associations on the planet and this isn’t shocking given the synthesis of the sides that have the absolute best cricketers in this organization of the game from West Indies and all over the planet. The out-and-out winners’ market generally draws in punters and for some, it is their initial step to wagering in an association or a competition. To add a fun element to your cricket experience, try https://parimatch.in/en/page/cricket-cpl-srl. Parimatch is the best platform for virtual cricket betting offering SRL betting.

The current year’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will start on Wednesday, August 31. With this season being the tenth time for West Indies’ established T20 association, the association will celebrate its tenth commemoration.

During the tenth season of the Caribbean Premier League, St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots will confront the Jamaica Tallawahs in Basseterre. There will be a month left in the competition, with the last to be hung on September 30 in Providence, Guyana. There will be 30 matches played between the six groups during CPL 2022’s association stage. There will be two matches between each group in the competition. Four groups will meet all requirements for the CPL 2022 disposal section after the association stage.

The CPL 2022 will feature a total of 6 teams. Barbados Royals, Saint Lucia Kings, Trinbago Knight Riders, St. Kitts, Nevis Patriots, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs. The Caribbean Premier League 2022 champions are St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

Let us explore the teams and squads of CPL 2022.

CPL 2022 teams and squads

Barbados Royals

The Barbados Royals won the competition in 2019, but after that, they had two challenging seasons and didn’t advance to the playoffs in either.

They are expecting better luck this time and have the advantage of having Quinton de Kock, a South African, head their batting while David Miller, another South African, has the potential to be one of the game’s most lethal hitters.

With the pace of Hayden Walsh, Obed McCoy, and Oshane Thomas, together with Afghan off-spinner and all-rounder Mujeeb -ur-Rahman, they boast one of the greatest bowling assaults in the game.

At least this time, they ought to advance to the playoff stages.


Quinton De Kock, Jason Holder, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Obed McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Azam Khan, Hayden Walsh, Oshane Thomas, Rahkeem Cornwall, Devon Thomas, Joshua Bishop, Justin Greaves, Corbin Bosch, Nyeem Young, Teddy Bishop, Ramon Simmonds

Guyana Amazon Warrior

The Guyana Amazons have made the playoffs each and every year the competition has been conducted, however despite making five final appearances, they have never won the championship.

They do not appear to be in a position to break their duck this time around since they have lost both Nicholas Pooran and Brandon King from their batting lineup, despite having someone in Ireland’s Paul Stirling who is capable of scoring huge runs quickly.

Another squad that stands to gain from playing on spin-friendly pitches might anticipate another playoff appearance.


Imran Tahir, Shimron Hetmyer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shai Hope, Paul Stirling, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair

Jamaica Tallawahs

The Tallawahs won the competition in its first year and again in 2016, but they haven’t been able to replicate those achievements since. They also appear to be the weakest of the franchises this time around, at least on paper.

Their right-handed-heavy batting lineup makes them susceptible to spin, and their blowing assault is devoid of marquee players.


Rovman Powell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fabian Allen, Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Mohammad Amir, Shamarh Brooks, Migael Pretorius, Chris Green, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk Mckenzie, Joshua James

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Most of St. Kitts’ team from last season, which won the championship for the first time, remains on the roster. Veteran Chris Gayle, who has been replaced by Andre Fletcher, is noticeably absent this time.

They have also been able to add Dwayne Bravo, who is the first player to collect 550 wickets in T20 cricket and who captains the team, as well as Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, a well-known talent in the Indian T20 league.

Although they seem to have the resources to do so, expecting them to successfully defend their championship may be asking too much.


Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sherfane Rutherford, Dwaine Pretorius, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Dewald Brevis, Izharul Haq Naveed, Johsua Da Silva, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Kacy Carty, Kelvin Pittman, Jaden Carmichael, Qasim Akram

St Lucia Kings

The Kings have never won the competition, but they have placed second in the last two years (although they were known as the Zouks before last year).

Keeping that record this time around may be difficult, despite the fact that they are led by veteran Faf du Plessis and will primarily rely on his experience.

They also have one of the more potent pace attacks, led by the Australian Scott Kuggeleijn and Alzarri Joseph. However, they don’t have any high-calibre spin alternatives, and their lineup is less talented than that of the other franchises.


Faf du Plessis, Tim David, Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, David Wiese, Alzarri Joseph, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston Mcsween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste, Rivaldo Clarke

Trinbago Knight Riders

The Trinbago Knight Riders, who have won the competition four times and who share ownership with the Indian T20 team, the Kolkata Knight Riders, are the early favourites because they made wise acquisitions, snatching up West Indies captain Nicolas Pooran from the Tallawahs and Andre Russell from the Tallawahs.

Although they don’t have a strong opener, they do have a potentially strong middle order that includes players like Russell, Pooran, Colin Munro of New Zealand, and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies.

They also have a strong spin attack, and the fact that the playoffs and second half of their league matches are played on pitches that typically favour spin makes up for any seam bowling shortfalls they might have.


Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Colin Munro, Akeal Hosein, Mahesh Theekshana, Tim Seifert, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Terrance Hinds, Leonardo Julien, Shaaron Lewis, Ravi Rampaul.


The CPL 2022 will be held in four locations. The first seven games of the competition will be played in St. Kitts’ Warner Park. The following eight games will take place at St. Lucia’s Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium. The matches 16 through 23 will thereafter take place at Trinidad’s Queen’s Park Oval. At Providence Stadium in Guyana, the playoffs and the final seven league games will take place. The Knight Riders, St. Lucia, Guyana, and the Royals are anticipated to go to the knockout rounds, with the Knight Riders winning in the end. What do you think?

Zuella Montemayor did her degree in psychology at the University of Toronto. She is interested in mental health, wellness, and lifestyle.

© Copyright 2014–2034 Psychreg Ltd